Being off the drugs (temporarilly)

Those of you who follow me on twitter will know I recently caught a virus that was doing the rounds and ended up with a chest infection. The virus part was like a mild flu/heavy cold, and lasted about ten days, the chest infection however took a bit over a month to clear.

Unfortunately, as my arthritis medication is an immun0suppressant, I was obliged to halt treatment while the cough cleared up. As much as my immune system torments my joints, I need it in action to deal with infections. This break in the medication allowed my arthritis to flare, so I had that to contend with as long as a pretty harsh cough.

After three weeks off the meds, I gave in, I just had to take them. I was still coughing but I was beginning to struggle with flares in my foot and hand. Even now (two more weeks later), I still have a mild cough. The flares are beginning to subside, and my work has been set back by a few weeks. I’m trying to minimise any pipetting and standing I have to do, but I still need to complete some experiments and struggle through.

So now I realise how dependant I am on my medication. When I started treatment, I had hoped that when we had the initial flares under control, I could be weaned off them and just have to keep an eye out for proto-flares in the future. Sadly, this doesn’t seem like it’s going to be a likely outcome for me..

On a positive note though, it seems my immune system can still tackle viruses when it’s not inflaming my joints 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • trockeneisbombe  On November 5, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Sounds tough… Hope the cough disappears soon even while taking those meds!

Leave a Reply

